What it is worth
What is a news archive worth to AI companies?
News licensing announcements can confirm the scope of a deal without disclosing its price. OpenAI’s May 2024 News Corp announcement covers current and archived journalism, but does not state a payment amount.
The short version
- Identify whether an agreement covers retrieval, display, training or several uses.
- Separate licensed publications from other businesses in a corporate group.
- Undisclosed financial terms do not support an assumed price per article.
Published examples and terms
Each example describes the named source and its stated scope. These are not Fiund prices or guaranteed individual payouts.
- Financial terms not disclosedOpenAI–News Corp announcement
The announcement states the scope and multi-year nature of the partnership without a price.
May 22, 2024 · OpenAI and News Corp partnership announcement, May 2024
Define the collection
Record publication, date range, article versions, updates and exclusions. Identify freelance, syndicated, image and other third-party material separately.
Compare commitments, not headline estimates
Ask what content is delivered, how updates work and what the contract permits. A large publisher partnership does not establish a smaller archive’s value.
Limits to the comparison
The cited announcement supplies no payment amount or referral-traffic forecast. Do not infer either from the existence of the partnership.
Useful records
- Source records. Identify whether an agreement covers retrieval, display, training or several uses.
Gaps and limits to review
- Limits to the comparison. The cited announcement supplies no payment amount or referral-traffic forecast. Do not infer either from the existence of the partnership.
What Fiund quotes, and what it does not
The examples concern the named providers, agreements or disclosures. Fiund confirms availability, permitted use, preparation and price for a reviewed collection. The payouts page and contributor agreement explain its compensation terms.
Sources
Published 2026-11-05. Sources checked on the update date; consult the linked source for later changes. Send a correction.
Frequently asked questions
Is this a Fiund price or a guaranteed payout?
No. Published examples describe the named provider or agreement. Fiund scopes each collection and buyer license separately; an example does not establish demand or a payout for your archive.
What should I check before using this example?
Undisclosed financial terms do not support an assumed price per article.
Related
Discuss your archive.
Tell us what you have through a private assessment, so we can review source quality, permissions and buyer fit. Already speaking with Fiund? You can create an account without an assessment.
Explore licensing my data